

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

THE COUNTY ASSEMBLY OF THARAKA NITHI SECOND ASSEMBLY – (FOURTH SESSION)

ASSENT OF THARAKA NITHI COUNTY ASSEMBLY BILLS

Article 185 (2) of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 provides that a County Assembly may make any laws necessary for effective performance of the functions and exercise of the powers of the County Government under the Fourth Schedule.

During the Fourth Session, the County Assembly passed ten (10) Bills namely:

- a. Tharaka Nithi County Supplementary Appropriation Bill, 2020;
- b. Tharaka Nithi County Supplementary (I) Appropriation Bill, 2020;
- c. Tharaka Nithi County Appropriation Bill, 2020
- d. Tharaka Nithi County Supplementary Appropriation Bill, 2020;
- e. Tharaka Nithi County Persons with Disabilities Bill, 2019;
- f. Tharaka Nithi County Tea Bill, 2019;
- g. Tharaka Nithi County Traffic and Transport Management Bill, 2020;
- h. Tharaka Nithi County Reproductive Health Rights Bill, 2020;
- i. Tharaka Nithi County Flag, Emblems and Name Protection Bill, 2020; and
- j. Tharaka Nithi County Youth Empowerment Bill, 2020.

The following five (5) Bills were passed by the County Assembly and have been assented into law by His Excellency the Governor:

- i. Tharaka Nithi County Supplementary Appropriation Bill, 2020;
- ii. Tharaka Nithi County Supplementary (I) Appropriation Bill, 2020;

iii. Tharaka Nithi County Appropriation Bill, 2020; and

iv. Tharaka Nithi County Supplementary Appropriation Bill, 2020;

Acts of the County Assembly to authorize the issue of sum of money out of the consolidated fund and its application towards the service and to appropriate the sum and the sum voted on account by the County Assembly for certain public services and for connected purposes.

The Appropriation Bills, 2020 were introduced by **Hon. Muchiri Godfrey Murithi** Chairperson of the Committee on Finance, Budget and Appropriations and processed by the Committee on Finance, Budget and Appropriations whose members are:

i. Hon. Nthiga Milcent Muggana - Vice Chairperson

ii. Hon. Kinyua Erastus - Memberiii. Hon. Mwenda Gataya - Memberiv. Hon. Kabii Jones Kinegeni - Member

v. Tharaka Nithi County Persons with Disabilities Bill, 2019.

AN ACT of Tharaka Nithi County Assembly to provide for the rights and rehabilitation of persons with disabilities; to achieve equalization of opportunities for persons with disabilities; to establish the County Committee for persons with disabilities; and for connected purposes, was introduced by **Hon. Gabriel Asumpta Mukwanjeru** and processed by the Committee on Youth, Sports, Culture and Social Services whose members are:

i. Hon. Muthitu Denis Mutwiri - Chairperson

ii. Hon. Karangi Samuel Muthini - Vice Chairperson

iii. Hon. Kathenya Peterson Mwirigi - Member

iv. Hon. Kigwari Bonifacia Njeri - Member

v. Hon. S. Nderi Justin Kithinji – Member

The County Assembly recently passed the following Bills that were forwarded to His Excellency the Governor for assent:

1. Tharaka Nithi County Tea Bill, 2019.

AN ACT of the Tharaka Nithi County Assembly to provide for growing of tea; introduction, usage and management of tea cess and regulation of the tea industry and for other connected purposes.

The Tharaka Nithi County Tea Bill, 2019 was introduced by **Hon. Mucee John Njagi** Chairperson of the Committee on Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries and processed by the Committee on Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries whose members are:

i. Hon. Derebia Wilson Nyaga - Vice Chairperson

ii. Hon. Rugia Bernard Mutegi - Memberiii. Hon. Gitonga Karen Karimi - Member

iv. Hon. Mbae Anita Karimi - Member

2. Tharaka Nithi County Traffic and Transport Management Bill, 2020.

AN ACT of the Tharaka Nithi County Assembly to establish the County Directorate of Transport, to provide for matters relating to traffic, parking, county roads, street lighting, public road transport and for connected purposes.

The Tharaka Nithi County Traffic and Transport Management Bill, 2020 was introduced by **Hon. Kathenya Peterson Mwirigi** Chairperson of the Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Public Works and processed by the Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Public Works whose members are:

i. Hon. Muthitu Denis Mutwiri - Vice Chairperson

ii. Hon. Karangi Samuel Muthini - Memberiii. Hon. Kigwari Bonifacia Njeri - Member

iv. Hon. S. Nderi Justin Kithinji – Member

3. Tharaka Nithi County Flag, Emblems and Name Protection Bill, 2020.

AN ACT of the Tharaka Nithi County Assembly to provide for the use of Tharaka Nithi County government Flags, Seal, and Emblems and to prohibit the improper use of them and for connected purposes.

The Tharaka Nithi County Flag, Emblems and Name Protection Bill, 2020 was introduced by **Hon. Karangi Samuel Muthini** and processed by the Committee on Public Service and Administration whose members are:

i. Hon. Mbae Anita Karimi - Chairperson

ii. Hon. Rugia Bernard Mutegi - Vice Chairperson

iii. Hon. Derebia Wilson Nyaga - Memberiv. Hon. Gitonga Karen Karimi - Memberv. Hon. Mucee John Njagi - Member

4. Tharaka Nithi County Youth Empowerment Bill, 2020.

AN ACT of the Tharaka Nithi County Assembly to empower, improve and develop the youth as well as establishing a fund to provide access to capital and financing facilities through loans, grants and for connected purposes.

The Tharaka Nithi County Youth Empowerment Bill, 2020 was introduced by **Hon. Karangi Samuel Muthini** and processed by the Committee on Youth, Sports, Culture and Social Services whose members are:

i. Hon. Muthitu Denis Mutwiri - Chairperson

ii. Hon. Karangi Samuel Muthini - Vice Chairperson

iii. Hon. Kathenya Peterson Mwirigi - Memberiv. Hon. Kigwari Bonifacia Njeri - Memberv. Hon. S. Nderi Justin Kithinji - Member

5. Tharaka Nithi County Reproductive Health Rights Bill, 2020.

AN ACT of the Tharaka Nithi County to provide for Reproductive Health and for connected purposes.

The Tharaka Nithi County Reproductive Health Rights Bill, 2020 was introduced by **Hon. Njeru Charles Nyaga** Chairperson for the Committee on Health Services and processed by the Committee on Health Services whose members are:

i. Hon. Nduyo Susan Ngugi - Vice Chairperson

ii. Hon. Gabriel Asumpta Mukwanjeru - Member
 iii. Hon. Kigwari Bonifacia Njeri - Member
 iv. Hon. S. Nderi Justin Kithinji - Member

I wish to thank all the Honorable Members for their commitment to discharge their mandate and all the guests for gracing this auspicious occasion.